Another ‘Song-post’ … this song, Dhadkan zara ruk gayi hai, was playing a little earlier in my headphones, as I was busy trying to tick off items from my office ‘to-do’ list.

Its a fabulous song … the music and the lyrics are fantastic … it has been on my fav-songs list since a long time. The words are by Mangesh Kulkarni. I do not know of him doing lyrics for any other Hindi movies, and don’t know if he has worked on any Marathi movies or any other albums. But for this song, Mangesh Kulkarni has written a great simple song, with a kind of Gulzar-esque touch to it.
And of course, the song has been sung by one of my all time favourite singers, Suresh Wadkar. I always feel that Hindi movies have not done justice to his great voice & talent.

The song is from the Hindi movie ‘PRAHAAR‘, directed by Nana Patekar. The movie on the whole was ok. I remember enjoying the first half, and I liked the simple look the movie had given to both Dimple Kapadia, and to the superstar-actress of then, Madhuri Dixit.

-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

Dhadkan zara ruk gayi hai

Dhadkan zara ruk gayi hai, kahin Zindagi bah rahi hai
Palkon mein Yaadon ki Doli, Bheetar Khushi has rahi hai
Ye Khushi tum ho, tum hi tum meri jaanam, karu aitbaar

Chehron ke mele me Chehre the gum
Ek chehra tha main, Ek chehra the tum
Jaane kya tum ne de diya,
Mujhko jahaan mil gaya

Hothon par baat rahe, baaton mein sur bahe
Suron mein geet wahin, tumhari hi baat kahe
Mitt jaoo Sapnon ke Aagosh mein
Bhig jaoo Yaadon ki Bauchhaar mein

Milte hi aankhon ne rishta pehchana,
Ehsaas seene me saanson ne jaana
Chupke se pyar choo gaya,
Dila ke Ek Janam naya

Dhadkan zara ruk gayi hai, kahin Zindagi bah rahi hai
Palkon mein Yaadon ki Dolee, Bheetar Khushi has rahi hai
Ye Khushi tum ho, tum hi tum meri jaanam, karu aitbaar

-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

If you would like to listen & check out this song, go here to musicindiaonline  and look for the first song on the listing.

